top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Hunter Canyon Trail - Moab, UT


Over the last weekend, I had 4 days off straight so I decided I'd go on a little trip. Originally I wanted to go to Glenwood Springs, CO. Most people know it for its tourist attraction of the hot springs, but I have been to the hot springs and wanted to go hiking instead! Unfortunately (but also a good thing since they will be in a drought this summer), we got snow! When I say snow, it was maybe an inch, nothing compared to home! I looked at the weather to come that weekend and it was only going to be in the 30's to 40's. Hiking is great, but if the trails recently had snow and the weather isn't warm enough, it will be muddy and for me, I'd prefer not to hike in mud. I decided to go to Moab, UT where most people know it for Arches National Park! When my dad and I went on our big trip a few years ago, we went there Zion, and Bryce. So, I went online and found some local places to hike, but I like to call them hidden gems.

Saturday, 2/24:

Hunter Canyon is located on a long rocky and dirt road about 30 minutes from Moab where there is no reception. So, you drive and pray that you'll end up in the right place. There are a ton of mountain biking trails here as well and it looked like the bikers had a ton of fun! People with 4x4's also were driving on the road I was driving on and so were dirt bikes!

When I arrived to the trail head, there were a few vehicles there and a little campsite full of people and a dog! I waved to them as I started the trail. The trail was really pretty. Hiking along a little stream or creek is always relaxing, except in this trail, you had to jump from rock to rock to get across it, almost every 20 feet. It got pretty annoying, mostly because the trail was not marked so you never knew if you were hopping to the right side. Also, people seem to try and make their own trails which I would follow and come to realize it was wrong! Something to always keep in mind, stay on the trail that has the most foot steps!

After awhile I meet some people sitting and asked them what they thought. They agreed with me that the trail is marked terribly, but has great views!






After I was done hiking, I set out for my next destination, Hidden Valley Trail. I stopped on the way out because there was a family standing around a rock that was fenced in. I went to check it out and it was a rock covered in petroglyphs! It was amazing! They called it the Birthing Rock.



Walking back to my truck, I saw a great photo opportunity!


Once I got into my truck, the family also visiting the rock were getting into their 4x4. I saw the wife say, "Oh my gosh look, she's from New York!". I guess you could say I stand out. I run into them later on in this trip which I'll tell you about!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page