top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Kara with a K



Yes! We made it all in one piece... YES Franklin (my fish) made it too!

My dad and I left 1/22 around 8am and ended our drive in Juliot, IL. After sneaking in Franklin into our hotel room, my dad had to fix the toilet in our hotel room. It happens everywhere we go… he always is fixing things! We heated up food we brought with us and got some rest. In the morning, we turned the TV on to find that there was a snow storm in Nebraska causing I-80, the road we planned to take, to be partially closed.

Once we got into Omaha, NE the weather was completely fine, but there was still plenty of clean up that needed to be done. My dad estimates at least 100 cars and tractor trailers were off the road. You could see where a car had gone off the road and had already been towed too! We were blessed, maybe it is my new Angel I have in my truck, but we are so lucky to of not had any issues with bad weather! Originally we planned to arrive at my grandma’s (Omi’s) house in Longmont, CO on Wednesday, but after looking at the time and a few naps in the truck, we realized we could make it there on Tuesday night! With the time change, we arrived around 8pm!


Wednesday, Dad and I went to downtown Longmont to run some errands and stop at Ziggi’s for an iced Chai and coffee! Yes, it was absolutely delicious! I’m not sure if it’s better than Café Kubal, but it was delightful. We visited Dad’s friend from high school and later on visited Omi’s friend. Thursday we went to a friend of Omi’s for some tea and a German Apple Cake with truffles. We spent most of our day and evening there and ate so much we did not need dinner that night.

Friday evening, Dad and I went to Luna café to have another iced chai. My dad switched it up and had the house special, which I’m still not sure what it was, but it looked cool! We visited our family in Johnstown, CO after picking up pizza from Smackdaddy’s, located in Longmont. My dad saw them in June, but I have not since July 2016! It was so nice to sit together as a family and tell stories, not to mention while eating some great pizza! All of us wish my job could have been closer, but maybe another time! We met up with Dad’s high school friend and went to LPH, Longmont Pub House, located in walking distance from Omi’s. When that closed up we went to another bar and then headed home.

Saturday morning was a little rough. Omi had some health issues going on and went to the hospital around 3am. Unfortunately, it’s also the day I had to leave by noon to head over to Grand Junction, in hopes to not have any trouble driving through the mountains. Omi wanted my dad to go with me, but I insisted that he stayed with her and eventually make his way to Grand Junction later on in the following week.

After I picked up the greatest apple fritters ever made at Winchell’s Bakery in Longmont, CO I made my way to Grand Junction. You may be thinking, ‘Kara you made it to Colorado, a 25hr drive, why are you so concerned about this 4.5hr drive?’ Well, did you know it’s through the Rocky Mountains? Let me just answer another question you may also be thinking, my 4 wheel drive truck works great when I can see the road. The drive can start off completely fine and these mountains can sporadically take a turn for the worst… reasons why people have to put chains on their vehicle. YES… CHAINS.

NO CHAINS NEEDED FOR ME! I was able to have a wonderful drive to Grand Junction with the most beautiful snow covered mountains around me. It was amazing. I wish my dad could have been there to go through it with me, but look below at the pictures and maybe you all can feel like you were there too!

My apartment is so cozy, modern, and walking distance from downtown Junction. After moving everything in, I had to get something in my belly. I went to a place called Edgewater brewing company, figured I could go to a brewery by myself and not feel awkward. It was great!! My burger, fries, and beer were delicious and the staff was really nice. I ended up getting invited to a table and made some new friends who I sat with for the remainder of the night until we all left. They were all so nice and informed me that I could drink the water from the faucet and where to go grocery shopping. All important things to know in a new city!

Today I walked to Main Street Bagel’s and had their ‘scramgel’, a delicious breakfast sandwich with some tea and an apple. Grand Junction has a ton of statues and art to look at so I found myself wandering around looking at them. Finally I bought some food and I picked up some for Franklin since I left it at grandmas. For lunch, to treat myself after running and grocery shopping, I walked to a place called ZOUP! I had fire roasted tomato bisque and an albacore tuna sandwich which all put me into a food coma. Omi was discharged from the hospital today, so hopefully she is back to her usual routine soon! I finished unpacking and had more of an appetite, but this time I cooked myself. I KNOW, let’s hope I don’t get sick. I made some chicken I bought, free range chicken I might add, and broccoli with red velvet cake for dessert!

Work starts on Tuesday so I have another day to relax and walk around. I’m not sure what it is about the West, but every time I tell someone my name they ask, “Kara with a K or C?”. So, just call me Kara with a K.











ZOUP!




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page