top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Every day is a day to Learn


The first day nerves are over and I didn’t get sick from my own cooking! Success! My new job is great! The people there are really nice and welcoming, thank goodness. The patients are really nice as well, especially since I don’t know where everything is just yet so I look lost sometimes and they laugh…well we laugh together. There’s a lot of learning still left to do in my nursing career and I love it. I think it is so important to keep learning and I am all the time!

Since I am nights, I prepared my food ahead of time. Those who know me well know that my dad is practically a self-taught 5 star chef and I’ve barley ever cooked for myself or spent any time in the kitchen other than cleaning dishes (that’s always the deal, whoever cooks doesn’t clean). I guess I learned a little bit by just watching him in the kitchen since I didn’t get sick from making chicken or turkey! Yay!

My dad came in yesterday from Longmont on the train which he had a great time on. It was roughly 8 hours and there’s food and drinks, including alcohol, all on the train! He did miss the SU game though. We went to Rockslide brewery and walked around downtown. Then we met up with one of my new friends who is a traveling nurse from Wisconsin. We ate at the same place I went to last Saturday, Edgewater brewery. We went to a few other bars as well and met with a friend she met here who brought us to a bar downtown that had a dance floor and it was great! My dad even had a good time! Things are going pretty well here and hopefully this week while my dad is here we get some hiking done!

For those reading from my old job/are nurses: we have roughly 6 patients during nights and 4 during the day. There's an actual charge nurse who during the day has no patients and during nights they have 3 at most. CNA’s do vitals, baths, and answer all the call lights… yes I mean all of them. There’s a secretary who answers the phone when they push their call light and asks “how can I help you?”, then she calls the CNA and asks them to go into the room! It is so different than back home. Also to my lovely LPN’s, here you actually do assessments and everything! You are an RN except you can’t do IV push medications. The last night I worked I was the only RN on the floor, so I worked with 2 LPN and 2 CNA. Also, it’s paper charting and MARs. The computer system is from the stones age as well, and I am ok to say that since everyone says it too! It’s all black and white and I use F5, F12, etc. I MISS EPIC SO MUCH. I am learning a lot which is great, but wow it is so different!!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page