top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Hidden Valley Trail- Moab, UT


Saturday 2/24: Once I got off that crazy dirt road at Hunter Canyon, I loaded my GPS to Hidden Valley Trail. I was getting a little worried since it was already about 2pm and the sun would be setting soon. Online I read about the trail and it is a 600ft elevation gain in 0.6 miles. I thought well I did Mt Garfield, so how bad can this really be? It turned out to be an amazing hike!


Once the elevation climb was over, I ended up on this beautiful valley where this was in front of me... but behind me was the picture below.


Absolutely stunning!


Towards the end of the trail were these amazing petroglyphs!




The petrogylphs were located along that rock wall in the upper right side of the photo above. It actually turned out not to be the 'correct' trail, but there was a ton of trails leading up to it and I am glad I got to see them! The trail actually goes down the middle of the photo and leads to a long hiking/biking trail called the Moab Rim trail.


You can see this trail to the left of this photo above.





This was such a beautiful hike. There's red colored rocks and green trees reminding you of summer, but if you look behind you, the La Sal Mountains are covered in snow!

After my long day of hiking I stopped into the Moab Brewery where the beers are only $2.50! It is a 65 cent charge if you want to try a beer before ordering it, so I just ordered it. The people around me ate there and it looked like there was good food! I met someone who has been living in a van for over a month traveling to different ski resorts and went to Moab to get away from the cold weather. I am too much of a baby to stay in a van during the middle of winter, maybe if I was in Florida I could do it.

I got a hotel room at the River Canyon Lodge and ate my leftovers from Hot Tomato (an amazing pizza place in Fruita that I went to Friday with some of Dad's extended friends). I guess I should say that yes I did this entire trip by myself and really had no idea where I was going, besides the city Moab since I had been there before. Yes I was nervous and my family was pretty worried about me hiking alone for 3 days and having barley any phone service. Was I lonely? At times. While hiking it was nice to be alone and think and enjoy the hike. After the hike when I didn't have someone to talk to about the amazing experience was when I'd call either my dad or my boyfriend. They mostly listened and wished they were there.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page