top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Bow-tie and Corona Arch - Moab, UT


Monday Feb 26th:

My last day of hiking in Moab was filled with sunshine, no data on my phone, and unbelievable views that I don't think my phone could really capture. The weather forecast said that morning would be less cloudy than the previous (cloudy here is maybe 1 cloud in the sky), so I woke up at 5:30 am. Yep, me, up and awake eating my left over pancake from the previous morning at 5:30 am. You could say I was determined. I was also terrified once I stepped outside the hotel to realize, I am going to hike...alone...in the dark...on a trail I've never been on.

Once I arrived to an empty parking lot on a road that seemed to be in a canyon, I set forth for the trail, realizing I only had the flashlight on my phone and still no pepper spray or whistle. I began my hike and once I got to the railroad tracks I remembered reading I had to hike along them. So I began to and lost the trail...started over... lost it again. I was so frustrated since I had no idea where I was going, it was dark, and I was alone with no reception. Somehow I was able to get a hold of my dad who was able to look up a review about the trail. Before it cut out, I heard him say, "Head east and across the railroad tracks".

Well, Dad was right! Thankfully since the arch is in a valley, I had plenty of time for the sunrise. At first I thought, well I could have slept longer. Then I realized, I was flying through these trails. Am I really taking it in? Am I letting it sink in that I am in this beautiful place with amazing views some people only see as a screensaver? So I sat up on the rock wall with my clementine and watched as the sun lit up Bow-tie and Corona Arch with no rush, just cold legs.


Dad's favorite thing, the oodoos, also called cairns. Once you get here, you then have to climb up a cute ladder and use a cable rope! According to many articles, people do not go any further after this since they are afraid of the ladder and cables. I promise they really aren't that bad.



Then you get to have a much closer look at the beauty these arches have.


Above is Bow-tie and below is Corona.



I sat with this view, relaxing, and just waiting for the sun to come up. The train did not go by, thank goodness! It would have been much less peaceful. I could hear the birds waking up and the suns warmth once it began to shine.


I don't eat limes when I hike, so here's Corona and clementine.


I've been asked who is taking these pictures, and if you look close you can tell it is my phone on a timer...


And the sun has risen!


There's my sunrise hike! It was amazing and possibly one of my favorites. Mostly because I was able to relax once I got there and just let the world turn. I highly recommend this hike. It was roughly 3 miles without getting lost. I didn't see one soul until I was back at the parking lot. If you go to Moab, UT and don't want to pay for Arches National Park, just go here!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page