top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Negro Bill Canyon/Grandstaff Trailhead - Moab, UT


Monday February 26th:

After leaving Corona Arch and letting my family and boyfriend know I am still alive, I headed over to Negro Bill Canyon. It is named after William Grandstaff, a half black and half Native American who was one of the first settlers in Moab!

The trail was roughly 5 miles round trip. I wasn't sure exactly what was on the trail or at the end of the trail, but it was said to be a great hike! After signing into the book, I was almost hit by a man running the trail! Scared me half to death! After that, I saw his running friend and no one else until I got about half way back to the parking area.


Eventually you'll see this arch in the distance. I thought this was a really neat arch because of the various colors it has. Most arches are a red or tan color, where as this one has a variety of brown, tan, and black!


I sat under neat the arch and ate a granola bar. The views above and around me were amazing.



If you look in the background in the photo above, you can see the arch!


This hike wasn't too bad, but you do have to go across a little creek a couple of times. The trail is labeled well which is great! So you know you're going the right way, unlike some of the other trails I've posted about.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page