top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Mount Garfield... Again.


March 12th:

Nicholas' second day here, we decided to climb Mt. Garfield. Mt. Garfield is a Grand Junction/Palisade/Fruita, epic and difficult hike. If you've read my previous post about doing this with my dad, you'll know this is not an easy hike and he and I struggled with it. Thankfully since I had done it once before, I somewhat knew where the trail was and that made the experience less stressful and a little easier. It was a sunny hot day and there were a ton of people hiking...only so many made it to the top and we were 2 of them!


We went to Main Street Bagel's before the hike!




Yes, I still used my lovely timer to take this picture! Came out great!


One of the hoodoos/carins... or as Nicholas says, pile-ons, that my dad and I made when we did the trail is still there!




The couple who took this picture, went on the wrong trail. When my dad and I hiked this, we almost went on that trail and my dad insisted we start at the beginning again. Come to find out, the couple with their dog went all the way up and over and it took them 3 hours (it took Nicholas and I 1 hr). Talk about a long day for them!!


A great place to have lunch!








After hiking we went to the Palisade distillery and brewery. A great way to end a difficult hike on a hot sunny Colorado day!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page