top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

What's next?


I cannot believe I am over half way done with my first traveling assignment. People think 13 weeks is long, but this has flown by and I wish it would never end. My experience here so far has been more than I could have ever imagined.

When I signed to come here, the first question people had was, "Do you ski? Why would you go to Colorado in the winter if you don't ski?" and "How far are you from Denver? That far, wow what are you going to do?".

Well, those people are completely unaware of what Colorado has to offer:

1. Colorado has a million things to do besides ski if it does snow. This being warming up in hot springs, checking out local breweries, snow shoeing, and yes hiking depending on where you are.

2. Mother nature in Colorado is completely unpredictable, and it depends on your location. It could be snowing on the Grand Mesa and in Grand Junction, it be sunny. You could wake up to clear skies in the morning and see every season by night.

3. If you want to hike, HIKE! That be in snowshoes, boots, or a few hours away. If you want an adventure don't let the weather be your dictator (really advice for where ever you are)

4. Denver... psh, there are plenty of other cities here in Colorado to explore without dealing with a big city. Almost every person I met here loves it here because it isn't busy and there are plenty of things to do for a much cheaper price! Denver is great if you want a big city, but for me coming from a small city, this was perfect.

If you couldn't tell so far, if you've been reading my blog,

really had no problem finding something to do, but enough with that. Where am I going next?

To be honest, I don't know. I had ideas to go to Cape Cod

with my boyfriend for the summer and get a job there. This could still happen if there's a job available and we find somewhere to live that doesn't cost a fortune. The other option is Boston, there are a ton of jobs there, but housing could still be a problem. Lastly, I could go somewhere in NY that is close enough to home that I could commute.

Now you're probably wondering why I am leaving a place I love. My friend Jess that I met here gave me a great piece of advice, "In your first year traveling, don't extend your contract". This has stuck with me since she said it. I was offered another 13 weeks here in Grand Junction which would be absolutely amazing since there are a million things to do here in the summer. This is a breathtaking area and I am so blessed they liked me enough to ask me to stay. That being said, I could probably come back again someday when I am ready now that I have established a great report here, and amazing friends might I add.

So stay on the look out to see what I chose to do!

In the mean time, here's a picture of my new friend Stephanie and I! I met her last weekend at a local Brew fest while waiting for my friends. I ended up hanging out with her and her boyfriend the entire time. She also loves to run and we went trail running yesterday!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page