top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Aloha Oahu


While I was home for a few months, my cousin Jonathon and I decided to schedule a trip to Hawaii! Both of us wanted a vacation to look forward to and go somewhere we had never been. Hawaii was the choice! We flew in on January 29th and stayed in Oahu until February 2nd, then we flew into Maui until February 5th.

We stayed in an Airbnb close to Wakiki beach. After settling in, we decided to head out for some food and to our pleasant surprise, Wakiki brewing company was on the next block. Naturally, that became one of our favorite places.


Our view from the Airbnb and below we cheered to the beginning of our vacation to a flight from Wakiki Brewing Company.




Everyday, we had the pleasure of a rainbow...sometimes a double rainbow.

After eating, we decided to go to the beach and see the sunset. My friend Jess who I met in Colorado on a travel assignment, ironically started a few weeks prior at her new assignment in Honolulu. So she met us at the sunset with a lei!



The next morning we went to breakfast at Goofy Cafe & Dine which was absolutely delicious.


After breakfast, we headed to the beach! The water was so blue and clear, but the beach ended up getting packed, so we were glad we went early. In the background of the picture below, you can see Diamond head.


I was feeling very burnt and Jonathon went to get his tattoo finished. So I went and hung out at the pool at our Airbnb before heading out to hike Diamond Head.


I took an uber to Diamond Head and thankfully the weather stayed mostly clear. In Hawaii it rains somewhere on the island everyday, which is how it stays so lush.





I decided to walk the 3 miles back to Wakiki. I found a nice pier to walk out on before meeting my cousin for the sunset.





Duke Kahanamoku: Hawaiian Olympic Champion and introduced surfing around the world.


For dinner that night, we decided on Tropics Bar & Grill. This trip, consisted of a lot of fresh food and poke (raw fish). That night I had delicious ahi tuna while we sat outside. Afterwards we went to Lappert's for locally made ice cream.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page