top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Our Last Weekend in VA

Our last weekend in Virginia was also my birthday weekend. My friend Dana, who we visited in Fair Fax, VA, came down for the weekend to celebrate. Her and I headed to the Downtown Mall in Charlottesville. Everyone at work has told us about this little mall and since we did not want to hike in the rain and fog, we decided to go check it out!

There are tons of little shops and places to eat along here. It reminded us both of Pearl Street in Boulder, CO. We decided to head to Crozet for dinner at Smoked Kitchen and Tap. The Blackberry wings were amazing, as was everything else! There is a great happy hour special and the wings were only $5!

Before heading back to the apartment, we ordered some milk shakes to go!

The day of my birthday, we went to Stella, Bella, & Lucy's for breakfast and mimosas. My dad and I went here for lunch when he visited and it was really good. It's walking distance from where we were staying, but we had never been for breakfast! Yes, it was as good as it looks.

Then we headed to Charlottesville to do a little shopping and go to some wineries.

We had never been to Jefferson Vineyards and we had heard lots of people talk about it, so we decided to go check it out!

The wine was really good. I can't remember the name, but one of their bottles has a cat on it and it was my favorite. We enjoyed a glass after our tasting before heading over to Trump Winery, owned by Donald Trump's son, Eric. It was a beautiful vineyard and the wines were definitely more expensive, but we fell in love with their dessert wine that is aged in whiskey barrels. Oh, and both of these vineyards give you the tasting glass!

For dinner that night we went to Fry's Spring Station. Aaron and I drove by here everyday leaving work so I've been dying to check it out! We ordered the Wisconsin cheddar cheese curds and the funghitown pizza (with and without mushrooms). Our server and the bathrooms were not the best, but the food was really good!

Every year on my birthday I have a margarita, so I took my yearly birthday picture too!


We had such a fun time in Charlottesville, VA and we are excited to begin our next assignment in Lake Havasu City, AZ in 2020!

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page