top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Catskills and Glens Falls


My dad decided to visit me in Albany one last time before my assignment was over. We set out for one of our favorite things to do together, hike!

He and I had been to the Adirondacks multiple times, and I can't hike too much up there without my 46 partner Chelsea. My dad had never hiked in the Catskills so we took the hour drive south of Albany to go check it out.

We decided to do Artist's Rock, Sunset Rock, and Newman's Ledge via Mary's Glen Trail. There is a $10 state park fee to get in, but it is well worth it.



Finding the trail was difficulty at times, so make sure to pay attention!


At the first look out, this was all we had to see, but thankfully it started to clear up!






We decided to take the trail up to North Point where we saw this wonderful view. We sat here and ate our food while a chipmunk explored the land around us.



Below is Ashley Falls


Once we finished we saw this wonderful sky over the water and thought, "Next year, we better camp out here". It was really beautiful.


When we were done hiking we stopped at Kaaterskill Falls since it was on our way out.



Then we headed to a local place called Rip Van Winkle Brewing Company. The food was absolutely delicious! Unfortunately, neither of us enjoyed their beer selection enough to bring it home in a growler we brought. We decided to go to Crossroads brewing company which had a great selection and we bought a growler to bring home.

The next day, a good friend of mine from college texted me that she was going to her house in Glens Falls for the weekend and asked if my dad and I would like to go. It was her dad, my dad, and us two college friends who have not seen each other since graduation.

We all went out on the boat, drank the growler we bought the night before, and caught up.



We also did some water skiiing which I had never done! It is much more difficult than it looks, but we had a blast. Afterwards we played some corn hole while watching the sunset.


After watching the sunset, we headed to Common Roots Brewing Company. While we were there, Deirdre and I headed over to Southy's Pizzeria for the best wings, according to her and her dad. They were not kidding! They were delicious. We brought them over to the brewery and did not have any left overs.

We then went to Mean Max Brew Works where we played darts!



We went to a few other places before heading back to the house and going to bed. When we woke up the next day it was another sunny beautiful day on the river.


My dad and I had to head out so he could catch the train from Albany to Syracuse. We had such an amazing, spontaneus, and memorable weekend that we look forward to having again.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page