top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

A Cottage in Canada

After leaving Lake Havasu, we took the drive to Aaron's parents house in Kentucky. I spent a few days there with his family and then headed up to New York. One of my roommates from college lives in Buffalo and I told her I would be driving through and could stop for a few days if she was available. Thankfully she was! The last time I saw Paige was over 3 years ago!


Paige's family has a beautiful cottage in Canada that I have been to before, but it has been years. Uncle Dick is constantly working on it so I was so excited to see how it looks. He has done an amazing job updating inside and outside, but keeping it simple. Of course the day we headed up it was raining, so we took the opportunity to go check out a few wineries. The first stop was Vieni Estates.

Then Megalomaniac Wines which I had been to before with Paige, her uncle, and my dad.

Sue-Ann Staff Estate Winery was our last stop. They had an adorable Bernese mountain dog whose name is Brix. Watch out, he is still a puppy!

Then we headed back to the cottage where Uncle Dick and Aunt Kath made us dinner.

The next morning Paige and I headed out on the kayaks.

As we were kayaking, the waves became rough so we headed back in and enjoyed the sunshine.


For dinner that night, we headed to Canalside Restaurant in Port Colborne. Everything was delicious!

After that, we headed back to the cottage to watch the sunset.

Uncle Dick told us multiple times that we should take the E-bikes out. Well, finally we did the next morning!

We were a little nervous at first, but they were so much fun! We rode them all the way to Port Colborne where we had dinner the night before, about 8 miles. The assist was nice because these bikes are much heavier than your average bike so it came in handy on hills. It was a blast! We grabbed drinks and food from The Pie Guys Bakery & Cafe.

We walked around a couple of the shops as well before heading back to the cottage.

Once we were back at the cottage, we enjoyed the sunshine and the sound of the waves crashing in. That afternoon I headed home. I am so thankful I was able to visit Paige and her family. They are such wonderful people and their cottage is such a peaceful place to be!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page