top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Home for A Month

After the long drive, spending time with Aaron's family, visiting Paige, and grabbing food with a good friend from college in Rochester, I finally arrived home. This was the first time in 2.5 years that I had driven home. It felt so weird having my vehicle and belongings back in one place again!

It worked out perfectly that I arrived just in time for Paddlefest! Paddlefest is an event hosted by the H. Lee White Maritime Museum where kayakers, canoeists, and paddle boarders can raft on the Oswego River from Fulton to Oswego while going through the locks. It is roughly a 13 mile paddle, but it is arranged where you can park your vehicle at the other end so you do not have to paddle back. Also, the ride is down river, making it even better! We have done this once before and loved it!

After the 13 mile paddle, we headed into Gibby's for a beer and after we went to what used to be Alex's On The Water, but it is now La Parilla On The Water. The food was amazing, especially the brussel sprouts. Then we headed into Fulton and stopped at The Tavern On the Lock.

The next day, the weather was perfect and we headed out on my mom's boat after church!

The following week, Dad and I were running errands and we have been talking about going to All Who Wander since they opened their new location in Manlius, NY. Finally, we were in the area and the thought of going here popped in my head. Our good friends from Tae Kwon Do, have a daughter whose fiance and his friend opened this place. It started out in a small, closet sized space and during COVID they moved into this building. Dan is the owner we know and he is doing an amazing job with this place! It has a welcoming atmosphere and the food is delicious. A perfect place for All Who Wander. Dan and his co-owner travel to different breweries around New York and bring back kegs. The menu is ever changing and some of the beers are collaborations between All Who Wander and the brewery!

Nana and I went blueberry picking one morning. Nana is very serious about this and only goes early, parks in the same spot, and only gets the biggest blueberries! I will say, they are delicious!!

I went out on the boat a few more times with my mom and step dad. My friend Ticia, her fiance Bryan, and her sister Erin all came one day too.

My dad left for a sailing trip so I was stuck at home with my bossy brother Ryan. He and I sat outside while he raced his truck in the drive way.

On my way to visit my friend in Lake George, I stopped in Baldwinsville and had lunch with my friend Janielle, her daughter Harper, and our other friend Brittany.

When I left there, I headed for Lake George to visit my friend Liz. I met Liz on my second travel assignment which was in Albany, NY. She and I worked nightshift together on an oncology floor. Now she and her husband bought a house and she works in Glens Falls in L&D! She is also pregnant with their first child! We caught up that evening and woke up the next day and headed out for a little hike.

That evening we went to dinner at The Lagoon which is right on Lake George.

The food was great! I had the fish and chips and loved it. The brussel sprouts were really good too. We headed back to the house when we were done and relaxed.

The next morning Liz and I enjoyed the morning with our books, which we ironically were both reading Where the Crawdads Sing.

We headed to Cafe Vero for breakfast and after we walked across the street to the farmers market. You'd think I'd never been to one as I bought something at nearly every stand. I can't help myself when it is local products!

I relaxed in Liz and Eric's pool while they went to an appointment. Their pool is actually a cattle water tank, but they use it as a pool and it's perfect!

That night we hung out with Eric's sister Lauren. Lauren's wedding is coming up so we were talking about that along with what Aaron and I are thinking. This was the first time seeing Eric and Liz in at least 2 years. It was so nice being able to catch up, see their house, meet their dogs, and reconnect. The next day I headed back to Fulton where Chase was waiting.

Harborfest weekend was that weekend as well! Harborfest is an event in Oswego where admission is free and so is the live music. There are tons of vendors there too. My favorites, Garafalo's and It's a Utica Thing!

My best friend Ticia and I hung out at the table my dad built. My dad built this table awhile back and yearly as the tree grows he has to make adjustments. People have signed the table as well and it has become our regular spot.

The bands at Harborfest are great along with the wine, beer, and distillery tents.

The next day I headed down to Cortland to pick up my college teammate Kelsey. The Elmira Lacrosse program has ended and 2 players organized an alumni event in Connecticut. I wasn't sure if I would be able to go and on my drive home Kelsey said she was driving there from Cortland. I said, "You want someone to ride with you?". It all worked out and we headed to Stamford, CT where we met up with another teammate Mae at the hotel. We all got ready together and caught up on life. Kelsey has been in dental school and is officially a dentist while Mae is working as an RN in Jersey. I am so proud of both of them!

The alumni event was so much fun. I haven't seen or spoken to so many of them in years so it was great to catch up. I can't wait to see them all again at the next event!


After my dad got back from sailing and I got back from the alumni event, we took a trip down to Buried Acorn Brewing Company in Syracuse. While we were there, we started to get hungry. The bartender recommended that we go to their other location, Buried Acorn Brewing Taproom & Eats. We headed over just in time before the kitchen closed.

On another day, Janielle, Harper, and I went for a walk down at Onondaga Lake Park. When we finished walking, we went to Heids of Liverpool for some hot dogs, ice cream, and live music.

Dad and I had a late lunch one day at the local diner, Mimi's.

That evening we headed down to Oswego for a block party! They had awesome music. We watched the sunset and went up to the Rooftop Lounge for a cocktail and appetizer.

One of the last times I saw my mom and step dad was out on their boat. John's sister, Lewanna, her boyfriend, and their son went too. It was such a fun day!

Afterwards, Ticia, Bryan, and Ticia's son Tanner came over for a bonfire.

Janielle, Harper, and I drove down to Cortland one day to meet up with our friend Anne and her daughter Elizabeth. Anne moved down to Binghamton and I thought, why don't we meet half way! It was the perfect location and thankfully the staff didn't get annoyed with the girls yelling.

This was the first time I've seen Anne since her wedding in 2019! It was so nice to catch up with her and for Harper and Elizabeth to meet.


Ever since I traveled West, Ryan has been saying, "Kara Colorado come home and go to Seabreeze". Well, after 2 years his wish came true. Ticia, Tanner, Ryan, my dad, and I all went to Seabreeze for the day.

We had so much fun going on all the rides! Ryan is fearless when it comes to rides so he had an absolute blast. It was all fun and games until we did the log ride and got soaked!

We were exhausted when we left, but I am so glad I was able to drive Ryan to Seabreeze in my truck. My dad, Ryan, and I used to go almost every summer when my dad was still working. The Jack Rabbit is still one of our favorite rides.


My month home flew by, but it was amazing. I am so thankful I was able to see so many people I haven't talked to or visited in years. You never know who will still be around when you leave for so long and I am blessed to have so many amazing people in my life where miles apart do not matter.


On the way to Fairmont, WV, I stopped in Corning to see my bus driver Tom from college for breakfast. At Elmira, we had to take a bus to get to practice and Tom was one of the bus drivers. During my 4 years and 2 sports, I got to know Tom well. I am so glad I was able to see him and it broke up my drive perfectly!








Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page