top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Harborfest 2018


Every year in Oswego, the city just north of my hometown, they have a festival called Harborfest. Almost every year of my child hood, I remember going and we all still continue the tradition. My dad has made a table that surrounds a tree we always hangout at. He puts it up on Thursday night and takes it down on Sunday!

I came home on July 27th and after we ate dinner, we headed up to Harborfest to watch one of the bands play. The festival starts on Thursday night and everyday until Sunday there are bands playing! Most of the bands are cover bands that are phenomenal. Of course also at this festival are tons of food stands with fried dough, funnel fries, ice cream, and more. There is free wine tasting, of course they want you to buy a bottle too. There is an L.L. Bean booth and an entire parking lot covered with roller coasters! There are events in other areas of Oswego to check out as well.

The next morning, Saturday, my dad convinced my friend Erin and myself to run the Harborfest 5K with him and some of his friends. We decided we would stick with my dad. Once we got closer to the finish line he got sick of us and said, "Just go!!". So Erin and I took off, running past 10 people or so and finished. We waited for my dad and some of his friends too. They started giving awards for age groups and we weren't really paying attention since none of us thought we would get an award. Then I hear my name announced... I got 3rd place in my age group. I couldn't believe it! How slow are the people my age? Well, it became the joke of the weekend and everyone said how I should train next year and get first... we shall see.

We headed home, took and nap, and headed back out to Harborfest. We met up with some friends at the Press Box which is on the other side of the river from Harborfest. For $3 you can take the trolley all day from Harborfest to almost anywhere in Oswego! After hanging out there, we took the trolley to Gibby O'Connor's Irish Pub where we sat outside and listened to live music.

When we headed back to our tree-table, we caught the Musician act just in time. That year they had their booth right next to our tree so we watched that for awhile and then my boyfriend Nicholas showed up! He thought the act was pretty funny too. He and I wanted to get some fried dough and lemonade so after waiting in some long lines, we finally did!


Ryan loves bell towers

Oh I forgot to mention, they have the all time best fireworks on Saturday night. Nicholas had never been to Harborfest, so we could not miss them! There is a lighthouse out on the lake and there were probably 5 little spots on the break-wall that they had fireworks shooting from. The entire lake was covered in fireworks. It was awesome!


We went back to our tree-table and listened to music before heading out. It was such a wonderful time.



If you're ever in town the last weekend of July, you've got to check it out! It's also a free admission, so all you have to do is find parking and show up, you might even see a great sunset on Lake Ontario while you're there!


Ryan and I having fun on my mom's boat the next day!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page