top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Cape Cod Beaches, Sunsets, and Walks

Updated: Aug 7, 2019

Summer in Cape Cod is beautiful and there are so many places to check out. I lived in Bourne, MA so most of my adventures are spend on the west coast which I consider the best place for sunsets and beaches (especially because there aren't many shark sightings)! Here are a few places I loved to watch the sunset, walk, and relax on the beach!


Beaches

Cape Cod is known for their beaches, but it comes with a price if you're going during the busy season. Many of the beaches have parking passes that must be payed prior to going to the beach. Most of the beaches I enjoyed before parking passes were required. Not only were they free to go to, but also less packed! Usually the parking pass is required until 5 p.m. so if you want to check things out later you will not have to worry about getting a ticket!


Old Silver Beach

If you're looking for a packed beach... this is it, unless you're here before the tourists come. Old Silver is beautiful (check out my sunset pictures later in this post) and usually parking is full. People sometimes park at places nearby and walk as well. My co-workers said that usually even during the week there is no parking available during the busy season. Make sure you get there early! They do have bathrooms as well.


Chapoquoit Beach

This is my favorite beach in Cape Cod... along with the Chapoquoit Grill. The beach stretches far and you can see so much from it. There are only blue boys available, but I personally think this is the best beach. There is a parking lot and it does get full quickly!


Monument Beach

My roommate and I went here and it is very pretty. Not many people are here so you can expect it to be quiet. We park at the tennis courts and sit there so that we don't have to worry about parking or people! You are walking distance from Whistle Stop Ice Cream and a gas station where you can use the bathroom.


Cape Cod National Seashore

Of course this is a must see! 40 miles of beach stretched along the ocean with dunes and walking trails. Check out Nauset Lighthouse while you're there and take a bag of Cape Cod Chips with you (Nauset is the lighthouse on the chip bag).


Nobska Beach

My dad and I stopped here after going to the Nobska Lighthouse. You have to park on the road and have a pass until 5 p.m.. You can see Martha's Vineyard while you're catching sun rays! One downfall was there are no bathrooms that we could find. We also saw a lady making sand art!



Sunsets

The Knob

This little path through the woods takes you to a wonderful and stunning lookout of the water. It is enjoyable during the day or while the sun is setting. Be sure to head back before dark for your own safety walking in the woods and because people monitor the site since it is so close to homes. Parking is available, but does get crowded quickly. Follow the signs so you do not trespass on lawns and no matter what, once you get on the trail it's a circle so you can't really get lost. My advice is to stay to the right on the way to the Knob and to the left while walking back to the parking lot. There is a beach available as well! I asked around and it is still free to park if you're going to the beach, but you should get there early.

Top right is my dad and I when we went and the bottom right is Aaron, my boyfriend, and I.


Old Silver Beach

A beach great during the day and great for the sunset. Parking is free after 5 p.m.!


Woods Hole - Landfall Restaurant

A few friends and I went here while the sun was setting. We grabbed a drink and went to the dock and watched the sun go down!


The Chart Room - Cataumet

This restaurant and bar is placed right in a marina making it a beautiful place for the sunset. Be sure to grab a Mudslide!



Walking/Biking

Sandwich Pier

I am not sure if you have to pay to go here during the busy season, but when I went in May it was free. There is a paved parking lot and it is pretty easy walk. The walk is on a board walk with the view of a swamp looking area and dunes ahead. At first I didn't realize it, but on the other side of the dunes is the ocean!


Cape Cod Canal

This is one of my favorite places. I walked or ran here almost every day I had off. There are plenty of different places to park along the canal to get access to the walkway. There are always people there walking, biking, running, rollerblading, and many are fishing. I found this to be a great place to go and relax. The path is 6.5 miles long and it is marked at every quarter mile.


Shining Sea Bikeway

I went here once and thought it was nice. Part of it is along the water, but the rest is not. The only thing that bothered me is you have to cross the road often, where as at the canal you do not. It is a paved path great for biking, walking, and running!





24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page