top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Martha's Vineyard

After I graduated college, my friend Jordan invited me to visit her in Plymouth, MA. Her dad took us to Martha's Vineyard where he drove us all around the island and we got to explore all the cities! Knowing I had already been I figured I'd wait to go with my family who has never been! In this blog post, I'll post of my trip with my dad and another trip I made with my mom and Nana.


My dad and I went on Fourth of July weekend so it was very busy. On the bright side, there are multiple places to park to catch the ferry and there is plenty of room on the boat! You can buy tickets in advance and they are valid for I believe a year. We took the ferry from Woods Hole (Cape Cod) to Oak Bluffs (Martha's Vineyard). You can also take the ferry from Woods Hole to Vineyard Haven, but we took it to OB.


Once we got there we realized how busy it was. Thankfully we found Back Door Donuts and were able to grab something to eat. When you ride in to Martha's Vineyard you will see Ocean Park to the left. We went there to enjoy our donuts.


We then went for a nice walk along the water to East Chop Lighthouse. It was a pretty far walk, but definitely worth it! We were able to see lots of the erosion that has taken place as well.



There are tons of tours one can take around the island, but I will say my friend Jordan's dad took us on the ultimate trip! Since we didn't bring a car over, we signed up for a 3 hour tour. It was a blast! You don't get to explore each city, but you get to see it! I must say that driving there looks crazy and I don't know if I would want to have my vehicle there. The roads are very narrow and crowded. There are no stop lights, unless you count the light for when the bridge goes up to allow a large boat to pass through.


One of the stops was Menemsha. Our tour guide asked if we would like to stop and have what he thinks is the best lobster roll on the island. Well, we said yes and agreed that it was the freshest lobster roll we had ever had!


Gay Head Lighthouse is a must see when in Martha's Vineyard! There is a lot of history on this lighthouse and they are making a movie about it. This lighthouse had to be moved over 100 feet due to erosion, an over 3 million dollar project! While you're there, be sure to learn about the Wampanoag culture and they're history on the island.


Have you watched Jaws? Well it was filmed here... and every time they filmed a life guard chair... this was the chair! You also can see the bridge where the shark comes out in the movie. People jump off of it though there are multiple signs saying not to.


We also checked out the oldest operating platform carousel in America which is located in Oak Bluffs.


You have to see the cottages while you are in Martha's Vineyard! It looks like something from Disney!


Lastly, we went to Offshore Ale Co., a brewery on Martha's Vineyard! We had the cauliflower and fish and chips! It was delicious and so was the beer.


One of my favorite things about using the ferry service (only applicable if you're not bringing a vehicle) is you can catch any ferry from Oak Bluffs or Vineyard Haven! You are on no time constraints making it a real 'island time' feel.


My mom and Nana came to visit a few weeks later and we headed over to the island to do some walking around and shopping. We decided to stop over at Pie in The Sky in Woods Hole before getting on the ferry!


Once we arrived we walked around Oak Bluffs in all the shops! We went to the Cottages as well.


We also caught some rays at Oak Bluffs Town Beach.


For dinner we went to the Lookout Tavern and I highly recommend going there! It was delicious! Of course, we had lobster.



There are lots of different things to do in Martha's Vineyard. I suggest doing a tour just to see everything if you've never been, unless you have my friend Jordan's dad to take you on his specialty tour. There are lots of options, but if you're in Cape Cod, I suggest going to at least one of the islands!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page