top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Hot August Nights & Virginia City

My dad visiting was such a fun time. Figuring out how to post of all the things we did was not easy! Hopefully you all enjoy the way I am putting it all together.


The day after my dad arrived we relaxed at home and had a late breakfast at Two Chicks in Midtown. While we waited for our table, we walked around a couple of the local shops near by.

One of our co-workers had told me that it was Hot August Nights. Hot August Nights is an over 30 year tradition in the Reno-Sparks area that celebrates classic cars and music! Truthfully, we really didn't know what that all entailed, but I knew my dad would enjoy the Whiskey Lounge in Midtown. While we sat outside of the lounge, old cars were cruising by!

It was so much fun! Everyone was loving all the cars going by and the music they were playing. Crazy how cars have evolved!


The next day the smoke was still horrible so I didn't want to take my dad on a hike with no views. We went for a few walks around our neighborhood and enjoyed the sightings of wild horses! We see them almost every day!

After that we headed to The Depot Craft Brewery & Distillery. The cocktails here are amazing. The staff actually 'invents them' if you will. We went a few weeks later and they had completely re-done the cocktail menu, but Aaron loved my dad's cocktail, Fuego Caliente, and they were able to make it! I had the Tea Time and Aaron had the Silver Donkey. Honestly, all of them were delicious! You can't go wrong with any of their drinks. We also ordered the cornbread fritters and brussel sprouts. Highly recommend the brussels! (I know, we order brussel sprouts a lot)

After that we walked over to Lead Dog Brewing Company. This is practically right next door. They have 2 locations and we had previously visited the Sparks location which is in a big warehouse where as the Reno location is much smaller, but still has corn hole!

Next door to Lead Dog is Nevada Sunset Winery. I noticed this place a few times before and wanted to take a visit! We walked in and a gentleman, we later learned named Mike, greeted us and we quickly noticed he was closing up. He said, "No, no. Come and sit". Well, 2 hours later we walked out of there! He was so friendly and we all talked about life and wine and how this place started up. It was so much fun!!

One day, my dad and I took a trip just the two of us to Virginia City. We started going up the mountains we can see from our house and check out this smoke!

The house we rent is somewhere down there, but usually the skies are blue and you can see so many mountains! By the time we got to Virginia City, the smoke wasn't as bad. We decided to go eat at Palace Restaurant and Saloon. The portions were huge, so I recommend splitting food if you can. My dad had the pastrami Rueben sandwich and I had the fried pickle bacon cheese burger. We also split some type of cheddar broccoli soup.

Virginia City is an old mining town and below you can see an old mine! There are a ton of cute little shops to check out and old Victorian buildings as well.

Below is Saint Mary in the Mountains Church. Due to restrictions, we could not go inside, but it was beautiful.

When we walked back up to the main street and we noticed this old Toyota Land Cruiser. My dad used to have one so this was awesome for him to see.

Then we headed to the Silver Dollar Saloon.

Unfortunately due to the smoke, the 100 Mile View Back Deck was not so great, but I cannot remember the last time I paid $6 for 2 beers!!! It was in shock! While we sat outside we talked to some other people that were visiting for the day and then we headed out. The one down fall of this area is that it is mountain driving to get there so you have to be ready for that on the way back down.


Hot August Nights was such an awesome event to experience especially with my dad since he knew the cars like the back of his hand! We had a lot of fun at all these places and are so lucky we got to experience them with him.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page