top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Visiting Home- Covid Style

This was by far the longest I've ever been away from home! Aaron went back to Kentucky and I flew back to New York! With Covid going on, we had to wear a mask AT ALL TIMES in the airport and on the airplane. It was probably best for me since I always fall asleep on the airplane with my mouth wide open, the mask graciously covered it up.


I landed in Syracuse to my best friend Ticia and my dad picking me up in his new truck he bought while I was gone! It felt so nice to be back with them both.

The next day my dad and I relaxed outside. I forgot how green it is back home and how different the humidity feels compared to the dry 100+ heat in Lake Havasu!

Ticia and my little nephew, her son, came over during the morning. We sat at the table and questioned him and his math skills. The Man, The Myth, The Mathematician!

One day we took my mom and John's boat with almost my entire family, the Golden Girls, and Ticia! My mom had this clever idea of putting jello shots inside syringes since us Golden Girls are all nurses. Needless to say, she filled them up a little too much, or maybe just enough...

We had so much fun and we went to Applebee's after for dinner. The next two days I spent relaxing with my dad and my brother. I enjoyed my dad's wonderful cooking to the fullest! He even made elderberry syrup from the elderberries that grow wild in our yard.

It was so nice to be back home with them. Tanner also had his birthday party while I was home!

Nana came up one evening for dinner and we had some freshly made pie with the most amazing pie crust to ever exist!

Of course going home to see family also means, seeing our adorable fur babies! At my mom's we have beautiful Olive the Rottweiler and at my dad's we have sassy Chase the cat.

My dad and I love to take day drips. We have a white board on our fridge that has had Pratts Falls written on it for probably 2 years. We kept saying we were going to go, well finally we went! First we took a trip to Mimi's our local diner in Fulton.

Full bellies and all, we headed to Pratts Falls!

We had such an awesome time exploring, even when we got a little lost on one of the trails. One thing I do not miss about home, is the bugs! In Arizona, there are hardly any bugs and it is amazing. After the falls, we saw a few signs for a brewery up the hill from the falls. Little did we know about this beautiful place called Heritage Hill Brewery that is located on a working farm. They have a stunning barn with amazing views for sunsets too.

Following this, I headed home to change quick and go to dinner with the Golden Girls. One of my favorite things about home is being so close to Lake Ontario. Oswego has done so much to the waterfront! It looks amazing!

The small fire pit you can actually rent out for an evening! I figure maybe the next time I go home we will have to book it! That night we headed to the sunset at Rudy's.

On my last day home I went and had my nails done with the Golden Girls. We all grabbed a few drinks at The Lock after and my dad came too (not to get his nails done). My dad made some amazing shrimp scampi that night and the next day I had to say my goodbyes.

I met Aaron at Charlotte International Airport! Ironically we were able to get the same flight back to Lake Vegas and sit next to each other!

Once we got into Lake Vegas, we both were starving, so we headed over to Red Lobster since it was one of the only places open. While we were home we closed on our condo! We grabbed a few things from our old place and stayed the night in our new place.

We couldn't complain waking up to this view the next day! I will say, we both really missed home and are so glad we were able to spend time with those we love and miss so much!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page