top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

We're Engaged!

Aaron and I have been together for over 3 years and the conversation about marriage was something we talked about a few years ago. When we met I had a joke with him that, I have a 5 year plan and I'd like to be having children within the next 5 years. I told him this after he decided he wanted to be more serious and he said, "That sounds great".


Well, 3 years in I figured we would be getting engaged and the questions of, what kind of ring? Where to buy it? Gold or silver? I knew he had been looking, but otherwise I didn't know.


The day before his parents were flying in, he said to me, "Kara, on Saturday we are going to Rotary Park for a walk at 7am and then getting breakfast". My first thought was why in the world would he want to be awake prior to 7am on our day off? I asked if there was any way we could change it to 8am since I wanted to go to the gym. He was beyond annoyed that I wanted to change the time. I started making jokes that if he is proposing I now know! Which I was guessing, but not for certain.


Aaron's mom and Kellen played it off so well in the pool. They were saying things like, "Why at 8am? Can't we make it 9am?", or "I didn't know we were going. He just told me that". I really was falling for it.


So I get out of the gym on May 21st around 8am and get a call from Aaron. He says, "Go home and shower and throw something decent on". Well, that kind of told me what was happening. I immediately called my best friend Ticia from home and said. "I THINK IT'S HAPPENING!". I grabbed a few dresses out of my closet, sent her pictures, and hopped in the shower.


When I got out she had picked the one I should wear which I had just bought the day prior (come to find out, Aaron was hoping I'd wear it). Ticia said, "Put on some mascara and get down there!".


Off to Rotary Park I went and Aaron met me in the parking lot wearing his favorite dress shorts and one of my favorite shirts he owns. He grabbed my hand and started walking with me away from the channel. Rotary Park is located right behind our first condo we bought and was one of the few places we went to on our first day in Havasu 2 years ago. As we walked we crossed a little bridge...

I looked at the pavilion and said, "What are those people doing in there?". I figured it was his parents and some friends of ours.

Then he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him...

Of course I said YES!

As we walked to the pavilion with huge smiles on our faces, I quickly realized, my mom, step dad, and dad were all there! I couldn't believe it!

It was one of the happiest moments in both of our lives!

Apparently when I had called my dad the day prior, he was on his way to the airport and texted me saying he was playing darts... My mom told me when we left Disney that she wouldn't see me for another 2 months. It all was lies, but I am beyond thankful they were able to keep the secret and make this moment that much better.

After this we headed over to Red Onion for breakfast.

Then we all headed back to our condo complex and hopped in the pool. Our friends Greg and Wendy came over as well along with their daughter Kara and her daughter!

It was so nice spending the day with family who we love so much. Being away from them isn't always easy so Aaron bringing them all here was so nice. We are so thankful Greg and Wendy were able to enjoy this moment with us as well. They are family to us. My dad has never been to Lake Havasu so I got to show him around a little bit after we all had dinner.

Then we called it a night! My mom got this cute candle for me so I had to light it that night.

After church, we all headed down to the lake. I dropped off my mom and John, my step dad, at the boat rental and met up with Aaron and his family in the channel where my mom and John would pick us up.

Then we headed out on the water!

We went down to Havasu Springs to grab some food. After that we hopped in the lake to cool off.

As we were going back, we noticed a pirate ship! (And one of my best photo bombs)

I loved having everyone together in our West Coast home.

Once we were done, we parked at the south end of the channel and enjoyed the water. There was a guy next to us Steve who had a beautiful dog who we all played with.


A few of us headed back to the condo as it was a long day. The rest of us went over to the island to watch the sunset.

On Monday, everyone left, but my dad was able to stay until Wednesday night. We went to the gym and relaxed at the pool everyday. Just talking, reading, attempting sudokus, and enjoying the weather. It was amazing having everyone here and it was the first time our parents were able to meet. I am so thankful and blessed for my family and my fiancé organizing all this. We have been embracing this moment of being engaged and eventually the wedding planning will come. We can't wait to see what the future holds!








44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page